This website uses cookies to function correctly.
You may delete cookies at any time but doing so may result in some parts of the site not working correctly.

Comments & Feedback

At the Barcellos Family Practice we want you to be happy with our services and we welcome patient comments and feedback.  

All comments are reviewed by the management team, including the Partners, with action taken as appropriate.  

Whilst we cannot reply to individual comments and feedback, recent comments and our responses can be found below. 

If you would like to leave us a review we encourage you to leave us comments on the NHS choices website please.

March 2019

"A higher chair for patients who have had hip replacements and who are on hip precautions."

Following a hip operation the surrounding tissues and muscles need time to heal. The majority of patients will be able to carry on normal activities following surgery but be guided by pain and discomfort. People with certain conditions are more at risk of the hip dislocating after hip surgery and the surgeon may recommend they avoid certain movements after the operation - these are known as hip precautions.

In order to put hip precautions into practice The Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital (a Centre of Excellence for Orthopaedic Surgery) recommends patients choose a firm, upright chair, preferably with arms. The ideal height of the chair depends on a patients height.

Unfortunately for a GP surgery this makes it very difficult to have universally suitable chairs for the small number of patients who are following hip precautions. Whilst a higher chair may be suitable for one patient, it could be more dangerous for another.

November 2018

"Very friendly atmosphere from reception to the doctors. Professional and helpful at all times and would strongly recommend this surgery."

Thank you very much for these lovely comments.

October 2018

"Are you aware that your disabled parking place is inaccessible. Not only is the ramp encroaching but the bins are in the space."

We reconfigured our if front entrance at Corbin Avenue to improve the accessibility of the practice to those with mobility issues (and those with pushchairs etc). This included automatic doors as well as a ramp up to the front entrance. This resulted in us having to relocate the disabled parking space. As you may understand removing painted lines (designed to withstand rain, snow, and been driven on) meant it took some time to remove the disabled logo from the original space. The bins were placed on this space to avoid people from parking and damaging their car on the ramp.

Interestingly there was a picture circulating on social media with disappointment expressed about the surgery not having a disabled car park space - at the time of the picture there was a car parked in the new disabled space, that belonged to a disabled patient.

"Coffee and biscuits for impatient patients."

Unfortunately as a healthcare provider encouraging the consumption of biscuits (high sugar and high fat content) and coffee (significant caffeine content) is not something we can encourage.

Nationwide the country is seeing an increase in the rates of obesity (and the long term health problems this causes) and diabetes. This problem is seen in our little corner of the country.

Caffeine itself is associated with increased anxiety, higher blood pressure, and headaches.

September 2018

"Few more young baby toys for 8 months to 1 year."

Sadly we are governed by CQC infection control rules here. The type and nature of toys we can have in our waiting rooms are dictated by the ends for them to be easily and properly cleaned. As we all know babies toys tends to end up in their mouths limited our options further.

"Excellent doctors who take time to listen."

Thank you for these kind comments. This has been part of the principles started by Dr Barcellos and something the current partners want to see continue.

"Friendly reception staff and nurses. Excellent service."

Thank you for these comments. These have been passed on to the team.

August 2018

"Reception very rude. New reception staff are needed with polite manners."

We were surprised by this comment. We are very lucky to have the quality reception staff that we do at Barcellos Family Practice. They are an integral part of the team and vital cog in helping the practice run smoothly for the benefit of patients. If you have specific concerns about an individual member of staff these could be directed to our Practice Manager via our formal complaints policy.

"A walk-in surgery in the morning from 0830 till 1100; like all Dorset Doctors do."

Again a comment we were surprised by. According to Dorset CCG (who commission and oversea General Practice locally) most GP Surgeries in Dorset do not offer a walk-in surgery.

Walk-in surgeries are often initiated at practices where patient demand is in excess of the capacity the doctors can offer. Asking patients to sit and wait for potentially four hours, does tend to mean patients with minor problems do not like to trouble the doctor and seek help via 111 and pharmacists.

We offer a range of book in advance (usually available from a one or two days up to three weeks ahead) and emergency book on the day appointments. We ask patients, where possible, to use the book in advance appointments so there are emergency appointments available for those who need them. For example, if you have had a cough for three weeks it would be appropriate to book an appointment a few days ahead, rather than an emergency slot. On the other hand, if your child has a rash, high temperature and not feeding well this would be best booked into an emergency slot.

We have taken note that there is the need more emergency appointments on a Monday and Friday and therefore we have adjusted the hours of our Nurse Practitioner to offer more cover at these times of high demand.

"Home visits should be to anyone especially those very ill without a car, not just old / dying."

General practice has never been, and can never be an emergency service along the lines of the police or ambulance. There is neither the manpower for this, nor the infrastructure to work in this way. Unfortunately lack of personal transport such as a car is not a reason to request a GP visit.

Where patients may be suffering from a serious medical emergency. It is highly likely that the doctor will contribute little to the patient's care above and beyond that offered by the paramedics. Waiting for him/her to attend may well cause ultimate delay in hospital treatment and result in major disruptions to many patients' timetable caused by the doctor leaving the surgery.

During home visits GP have little access to patient's records and limited equipment to help them diagnosis and manage ill health. For this reason most consultations are best performed in the doctor's surgery.

Situations where a GP home visit makes clinical sense and provides the best way to give a medical opinion and initiate treatment:
1. The terminally ill
2. The truly bed bound patient in whom travel by car would cause a deterioration in their medical condition
3. Where a GP has assessed the patient over the telephone and feels they would add something to the patient's care

Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website